Hoppel Tournament


Team results

Beaver Local 276, Steubenville 175, Girard 155, Minerva 153.5, Hubbard 145.5, Bellaire 133, Edison 104.5, Ridgewood 84, South Range 36

    Beaver Local Senior Adam Hoppel was crowned the tournament's Most Valuable Wrestler. This was his 4th Everett Hoppel Tournament Title.

Minerva Senior Nic Albaugh picked up his 100th career victory with a MD over Hubbard's Adam Graban 19-7. Both wrestlers went into the 130 pound final undefeated on the year.

Minerva Senior, State Champion Chris Hahn did not compete in the tournament due to injury. Hahn is waiting results from the doctors before he wrestles again.

Championship results

103- Derek Caudill (Bvl) d Anthony Greco (Hub) 12-6

112- Donavan Collier (Min) MD Levi Hively (SR) 15-4

119- Luke Hoppel (Bvl) Fall Kevin Walsh (G) 1:51

125- Paul McCoy (Bvl) MD D.J. Dripps (Hub) 17-6

130- Nic Albaugh (Min) MD Adam Graban (Hub)19-7

135- Shawn Dunn (Bvl) Fall Matt Nelson (Rid) 2:32

140- Josh Wheeler (Steub) d Grant Hoppel (Bvl) 9-7

145- Ryan Oberlin (Min) MD 11-1 Mike Nitsky (G) 11-1

152- Thad Crosier (Steub) Winner by Default

160- Mitch Costa (Ed) d Ben Wagner (G)

171- Dave Ross (Steub) d Jason Randolph (EL unattached) 11-6

189- Joe Horton (Hub) Fall 3:35
James Beach (Steub) 3:35

215- Adam Householder (Rid) d Jim Bowersock (Bvl) 5-4

275- Adam Hoppel (Bvl) fall Jim Bird (Min) 1:19

Consolation Results

103- Anthony Iachini (Steub) d Justin Demoss (Rid) 13-7

112- Tyler Bock (Bvl) d Blake Widman (Ed)

119- Zack Decquzzi (Edison) Fall Dustin Carolyne (SR) 2:57

125- Dan Dunn (Bvl) Fall Paul Stackhouse (Steb) 3:11

130- Brian Cambell (Bvl) Fall Ross Johnson (Bell) ?
135- Jeremy Severn (Min) MD Ben Belcik (G) 13-2

140- Gary Chaney (G) d Brandon McCourt (Bell) 4-3

145- Bruce Swallie (Bell) Fall Sean McKitrick (Steub) 1:39

152- Mark McCourt (Ed) d Joe Bellanca (Bvl) 6-5

160- Mike Hepburn (Bell) d Rob Sullivan (Hub) 8-3

171- Luke Sulek (Bell) d Kyle Reeder (Bvl) 8-2

189- Cody Bruce (Bell) d Jack Thompson (Ed) ?

215- Dan Martina (G) d Dirk Soland (Bell)?

275- Bob Randell (G) Winner by Forfeit


Welcome to OVAeC Wrestling!

(Ohio Valley Athletic ex Coach) The purpose of this web site is to promote O.V.A.C. wrestling and the individuals that make it all possible. I don't proclaim to know everything about the
O.V.A.C.'s or wrestling, but I have coached in the O.V.A.C.'s for the past 8 years so I do have some knowledge of the sport, coaches and the wrestlers(2002).