2010 Seeds
Weigh-In Procedure
1985 Champions

2010 OVAC Tournament


Congratulations to Dylan Ice Beaver Local  OVAC MVP!

Congratulations to  Parkersburg South the  2010 OVAC Tournament Champions!

Congratulations to Dylan Ice Beaver Local  the Hercules Award winner!

Over all Champions Parkersburg South 256 points



103 Bartrug (Riv) MD Williams (EL) 13-5

112 Jeffrey (PS) MD Border (Cald) 10-2

119 Foster (EL) d Quinn (Shad) 8-7

125 Bauer (WP) d Miller (BvL) 8-4

130 Callarik (StC) d Baker (Shad) 3-0

135 Hobley (Steub) d Churchill (OG) 6-5

140 Green (PS) d Paolo (OG) 3-2

145 Ice (BvL) d Prezzia (StC) 5-0

152 Jefferis (Barn) MD Cooper (PS) 11-2

160 Crooks (Barn) d Richmond (BD) 10-5

171 Nogay (WM) d Smith (PS) 2-1 OT

189 Henderson (BvL) d Oberdick (MF) 7-2

215 Pyciak (BL) d DeVaul (Steub) 4-2

285 Eckroth (HC) d Kimmins (WP) 4-2


OVAC 2010 Final Report


Click link below.

OVAC 2010 Brackets.pdf

Updated  Finals 103-285 10:20 PM


Team Scores


OVAC 2010 Team Scores.pdf


Final Match Ups!

Click below



Semi Final Match ups!

Click below

Semi Final Match ups 2010



2010 MR. MAT



     Coach Jeff Carroll began his wrestling career at Avella High School (Avella, Pennsylvania), where he was an outstanding mat competitor.  After graduating from high school in 1973, he decided to matriculate at West Liberty State College (now West Liberty University).

     As a “Hilltopper” wrestler, Jeff Carroll was under the tutelage of ultra-successful WLSC Coach Vince Monseau.  Carroll had an outstanding stint as a wrestler at WLSC.  In fact, Jeff Carroll earned runner-up status at the NAIA national wrestling tournament at Washington State College (Washington) at the 142-pound weight class his senior year in 1977.

     Jeff Carroll began his teaching and coaching career under another outstanding mat mentor, Coach John Stephenson at Cadiz High School in 1977.  In 1980, Jeff Carroll began his head coaching tenure with the Cambridge High School “Bobcat” wrestling program and never looked back. 

     In 1981, Coach Carroll produced his first OVAC champion in Brian Duff.  He also had two place winners: Allen Stocker 5th and Jamie Price 6th.

     The 1982 season was another banner for Coach Carroll’s “Bobcats.”  They won

the OVAC AAAA Dual Meet Title.  Placing third over-all in the Ron Mauck OVAC Wrestling Tournament, they were the AAAA Team Champs in the prestigious competition.

     The 1984 mat campaign was another exciting year for Coach Carroll.  At the Ron Mauck OVAC Wrestling Tournament, Coach Carroll produced a rare “Hat Trick” by producing three OVAC champions in a row – Dennis Daugherty (119), Heath Beardmore (126), and Tim Pontius (132), with Jeff Booth receiving runner-up laurels.

     To make the season even more rewarding, Heath Beardmore was named the tournament’s Dave Bierkortte Award winner as the most outstanding wrestler.  Furthermore, the “Bobcats” had three District champions in Dennis Daugherty, Heath Beardmore, and Jeff Booth.

     His final season (1988) as Cambridge High School’s mat mentor was a “happy ever after” storybook ending for Jeff Carroll.  His “Bobcat” squad went undefeated in dual meet competition with a record of 16-0.  His heavyweight Tom “Tank” Moore won the Ron Mauck OVAC championship, along with Mark Bartlett placing 3rd.  Tom Moore went on to place 3rd at the Ohio State Championships, finishing his senior year with a record of 36-1.

     It seems that Jeff Carroll had the “magic touch” no matter what sport he coached.  In 1989, Coach Carroll took over the reigns of the school’s golf team, and

1994 the “Bobcats” were the Ohio State Links Champion.  In fact, Jeff’s golf team is the only Cambridge High School squad to ever win a state championship.  Coach Carroll ended his golf coaching career with an amazing meet record of 111-1.

     Jeff Carroll is now a guidance counselor at Cambridge Middle School.  He and his devoted wife Leslie have two children – Jeff, who is a pre-law student at OSU and Madison, who attends Cambridge High School.

     Congratulations to Coach Jeff Carroll, the 2010 OVAC Mr. Mat Award recipient.

Max Nogay becomes Weirton Madonna's 1st OVAC Champion at the 171 pound weight class!


 Larry Deaton 2010 OVAC Official of the year Ed "Buzz" Evans Wheeling Park

OVAC Assistant coach of the year Bill Bryant Harrison Central

OVAC Jr. High coach of the year Anthony Duffield East Liverpool

Syd Stolz Memorial award Louie Schluter Bellaire

Congratulations to Oak Glen  wrestling team the Bob Sadler Sportsmanship award!





Remember that Brandon Hinkle will be putting on a free camp Saturday to Jr. High & grade school wrestlers! The camp will start at 9AM and run about an hour. If you are down at Wes Banco Arena watching a relative or a friend take advantage of this camp!




Hit Counter


Welcome to OVAeC Wrestling!

(Ohio Valley Athletic ex Coach) The purpose of this web site is to promote O.V.A.C. wrestling and the individuals that make it all possible. I don't proclaim to know everything about the
O.V.A.C.'s or wrestling, but I have coached in the O.V.A.C.'s for the past 8 years so I do have some knowledge of the sport, coaches and the wrestlers(2002).